Black in Black White Shaded


The answer is this. The rules of chess at the time when Tartakower made his bet stated quite clearly that "a pawn advanced to the "8th" rank could be exchanged for any other piece excepting a King". There was no mention of what colour that piece should be! Consequently, white plays his pawn on one square (P-N8 equals Black N) and calls a BLACK KNIGHT which is mate in one. For those wishing to keep a record of this position, 1 will give the problem in Forsythe Notation:—

r7/kPR5/8/lK6/8/8/8/8. (White to move and mate in One; P-N8bn+)

Practical Mental Influence

Practical Mental Influence

Unlock the Powers of Mental Concentration to Influence Other People and to Change Situations. Learn How to mold the mind one-pointed, until you have focused and directed a mighty degree of Mental Influence toward the desired object.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment